Letting Go

Comes Rosh Chodesh Adar and I’m seriously worried about cleaning for Pesach. And I seriously abhor all the discussions around Pesach cleaning is not spring cleaning. It’s not in my nature to let go of anything. And like all things in life, it can be seen from a positive perspective or a negative one.

I strongly believe there is much too much waste in today’s society – so I do my small part, I recycle, I try to reuse, and I really am not that much of a consumer, that is, I don’t enjoy shopping. But once something comes into my life, I have a very hard time letting go – maybe it will be useful one day, or it’s so pretty, must find some way to enjoy it, or brings back such lovely memories.

I’ve taken the classes, read the books, know all the lines – but it takes Pesach for me to really let go. Not because clutter is chometz, but because without clutter I know everything feels cleaner, and clean feels good and more like Yom Tov.

But it’s not just “things” that can clutter, it’s also thoughts, time, and most detrimental, food. Consuming food I know isn’t good for my body is a way of clutter, but although I’ve been practicing mb 20 years, and although one of the important principles is quantity can negate quality (meaning too much of a good thing is not good), and having leftovers is not highly advised, I  still have a great challenge in throwing out any food – but throwing out/wasting is not recommended neither in mb nor in Judaism. So of course it goes back to planning well and cooking just enough, buying just enough and most important, eating just enough – even if it does taste super delicious.

I am grateful to http://www.soveya.org/ for making that principle of being satisfied a more important part of my life. I needed their very specific rules to follow and it has for the most part worked for me. Not that I’m not tempted, I am, and sadly still sometimes give in to temptation – especially about eating at night.  It’s a habit I am working on and still need help with – but if I continue to weigh my food and eat all that Soveya recommends, I do better. Tonight we go to celebrate my daughter’s birthday at a fancy restaurant, with many temptations – I go with good intentions, hope I stay strong.

In the meanwhile, as part of letting go, I have over 10 years worth of a lovely magazine, fine Cooking – but like everything today, as I’ve mentioned often, all can be found online http://www.finecooking.com/ but if anyone loves the real print version, (preferably someone in the Jerusalem area) let me know – would be happy to pass them on to you.

Purim coming before Pesach is a difficult juggle – but this year will definitely be different from all other years. That’s for the next post.

Leave a Reply

